Captured Tracks announce mystery releases to celebrate label anniversary

Captured Tracks have revealed the mystery releases that will mark their ten year label anniversary, featuring exclusive, unheard tracks from Mac Demarco, The Soft Moon, Wild Nothing and Shitfather (a live band featuring well-know artists including Mac Demarco on drums).

This summer, esteemed label Captured Tracks has been celebrating a decade of being in business. The festivities now continue into the autumn and winter and the label has now revealed the two mystery releases they have been hinting at for months as well as the tracklisting for two limited edition budget samplers. These bits of news come on the eve of a Captured Tracks’ CTX tour , which kicks off 18 October and features the heavy-hitting triple bill of Lina Tullgren, Wax Chattels and Drahla.

On 26 October, the label will share a 2-volume sampler compilation with an incomparable tracklisting. Volume 1 will feature classic tracks from Captured Tracks’ catalog and exclusive, unheard tracks from Mac Demarco, The Soft Moon, Wild Nothing and Shitfather (a live band that is Mac DeMarco on drums, Dustin from Beach Fossils, Cole from DIIV, Jack from Wild Nothing and Matt Kallman from Real Estate). Volume 2 will highlight some of their newer signings and some of the label’s more under-the-radar artists along with another Shitfather track. The tracklisting for both volumes is below.
Later in the year, 23 November will see the release of both mystery releases whose details have been kept under lock and key until now; the label will release a DIIV covers 7″ , previously only available as a cassette giveaway at a show last year. On it the band covers Cow by Sparklehorse and Sandy Alex G ’s Icehead. Additionally, by request, Captured Tracks will release a repress of the long out-of-print debut, By The Hedge , by dark pop purveyors Minks.
The full sampler track list is available here.

Read more: Album Artwork Through The Ages – #NationalAlbumDay

Leave a Reply