New Sylvian-compiled Japan reissue

News here of a classic pop album that’s well overdue for a deluxe reissue… Exorcising Ghosts, a career-spanning best-of was compiled and produced in consultation with David Sylvian one year after Japan finally disbanded. This new edition has been mastered at half-speed by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios, London. The LPs are housed in a gatefold sleeve with printed inner bags, a print of the band, an Abbey Road Half Speed Master Certificate, and an Obi strip.

Details and tracklist below, and read more of Long Live Vinyl’s extensive pop coverage.

Exorcising Ghosts is the definitive compilation of an era-defining band. It features recordings from the albums ‘Quiet Life’, ‘Gentlemen Take Polaroids’ and ‘Tin Drum’ as well as a selection of rarities including ‘A Foreign Place’ and ‘Life Without Buildings’, the 1981 remix of ‘Taking Islands in Africa’, ‘Voices Raised in Welcome, Hands Held in Prayer’ from 1983’s live album ‘Oil On Canvas’ and the extended 12″ mix of the 1981 single ‘The Art Of Parties’.

Side A:

Methods of Dance – from Gentlemen Take Polaroids
Swing – from Gentlemen Take Polaroids
Gentlemen Take Polaroids – from Gentlemen Take Polaroids
Quiet Life – from Quiet Life

Side B:

A Foreign Place – from Quiet Life single
Nightporter – from Gentlemen Take Polaroids
My New Career – from Gentlemen Take Polaroids
The Other Side of Life – from Quiet Life

Side C:

Visions of China – from Tin Drum
Taking Islands in Africa (Steve Nye Remix)
Ghosts – from Tin Drum
Sons of Pioneers – from Tin Drum

Side D:

Voices Raised in Welcome, Hands Held in Prayer – from Oil On Canvas
Life Without Buildings – from The Art of Parties Single
Talking Drum (Edit)
The Art of Parties (12” Version)