Swamp Dogg announces new album 'Sorry You Couldn't Make It'

One of the greatest cult figures of 20th century American music is back with an all-new album… 

Swamp Dogg

Swamp Dogg has announced his new album Sorry You Couldn’t Make It, produced by Ryan Olson (Poliça) out 6 March 2020, via Joyful Noise Recordings and Pioneer Works Press. The first single Sleeping Without You Is A Dragg features piano by Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) and backing vocals by Jenny Lewis and Channy Leaneagh (Poliça).

The follow-up to 2018’s critically acclaimed, Olson-produced Love, Loss, And Auto-Tune – Swamp Dogg’s first album to debut on 11 Billboard charts (including at #7 on ‘Heatseekers’) and his first chart ink since his 1970 song Mama’s Baby – Daddy’s MaybeSorry You Couldn’t Make It allows Jerry Williams, aka Swamp Dogg, to finally dive into the sound he grew up playing: country.

With the support of Pioneer Works Press, they recorded the album at Nashville’s Sound Emporium backed by a crack studio band led by Derick Lee, a keyboard virtuoso who worked as the musical director of BET’s Bobby Jones Gospel Show for nearly four decades. Nashville guitar firebrand Jim Oblon combusts his way through lead duties, while frequent collaborator Moogstar and other special guests John Prine, Chris Beirden of Poliça, and Sam Amidon join the action throughout.

While the 77 year-old Williams’ most enduring persona is the psychedelic soul superhero Swamp Dogg – a musical vigilante upholding truths both personal and political since 1970’s immortal album, Total Destruction To Your Mind – he will tell anybody who will listen that he’s considered himself country this entire time.

“If you notice I use a lot of horns,” Swamp says. “But actually, if you listen to my records before I start stacking shit on it, I’m country. I sound country.”

Click here to pre-order your copy of Sorry You Can’t Make It. 

Sorry You Couldn’t Make It Tracklisting:

  1. Sleeping Without You Is A Dragg
  2. Good, Better, Best
  3. Don’t Take Her (She’s All I Got)
  4. Family Pain
  5. I Lay Awake
  6. Memories (feat. John Prine)
  7. I’d Rather Be Your Used To be
  8. Billy
  9. A Good Song
  10. Please Let Me Go Round Again (feat. John Prine)

Click here for more news on releases, reissues, tour dates and more