Sir Elton John has been commemorated as the first ever worldwide Record Store Day Legend

Sir Elton John has been commemorated as the first ever worldwide Record Store Day Legend.

record store day legend

Known for frequent record store shopping sprees all over the world Elton amassed an incredible collection over the years. Whilst much of it was sold off in the early 90s to raise money for the Elton John AIDS Foundation his love for collecting is as strong as ever.
“Happy 10th birthday to Record Store Day,” exclaims Elton. “I love record stores, I can go to the record store in Vegas and spend 3 hours in there. Just the smell of it, the looking at it, the wonder of it, the memories. I love vinyl so much; the tactile nature, the ritual of it, looking at the sleeve…especially with the old albums and the liner notes – who played on them, the process of putting it on, the needle going on and the sound coming out. And it DOES sound better, I know it does! It’s just the wonder of having vinyl”.

The recently crowned Record Store Day Legend also has a rather special release coming out tomorrow: the widely-acclaimed 17.11.70.
The performance, which took place in front of 125 people at A&R Studios in New York was originally intended to be broadcast only. However, due to the incredible recording, engineered by the legendary Phil Ramone, it became a fast-selling bootleg. Demand was so great that DJM Records did a rushed release in April 1971, which featured six of the concert’s tracks.
The exclusive RSD edition of 17.11.70 brings together the six original tracks from the 1971 release and reinstates six other songs from the concert for the most complete edition to date.
We imagine it’ll be highly sort after when the doors open on retailers across the globe tomorrow so if you don’t want to miss out be sure to be ready in line.

Full tracklisting:

A1 Take Me To The Pilot
A2 Honky Tonk Women
A3 Sixty Years On
A4 CanIPutYouOn
B1 Bad Side Of The Moon
B2 Burn Down The Mission (Incl. My Baby Left Me / Get Back)
C1 Indian Sunset Previously unreleased bonus track
C2 Amoreena Newly remixed bonus track
C3 Your Song Previously unreleased bonus track
D1 Country Comfort Previously unreleased bonus track
D2 I Need You To Turn To Previously unreleased bonus track
D3 Border Song Previously unreleased bonus track
D4 My Father’s Gun Previously unreleased bonus track